I can…because You are

ב׳׳ה

 

 
I can . . . because You are
You are everywhere and everything.
I close my eyes, You.
I open my eyes, You.
From One, the many.
In each, the One.
The Journey that started with one has expanded.
I can’t repair all that is broken in this shattered world, but…
I can live with open hands and open heart;
I can be kind to those I encounter;
I can hold my tongue and my urge to judge.
I can act in the likeness of You
everywhere I go and through everything this life throws at me because
You are everywhere and everything.
 
***************************

Dear Friends–
In all honesty, I don’t always (everywhere and through everything) act in the likeness of Gd, whose merciful nature I wish to imitate. Some days I struggle to be compassionate and to withhold judgment — I remain human and I do have many flaws!!
  Nevertheless, I also know that I’ll never reach higher than the goals that I set for myself, so I set my goals high.  And that poem was written in a moment of hope, expressing my faith that I can become a better likeness of Gd than I am today.  

praying Shabbat brings more peace, and holiness, into each of our lives, jen 
 

Leave a Reply

