Shavua Tov!!

ב׳׳ה

I arrived home last night to find a new two-volume set of Torah commentaries in my mailbox.  They were sent by a friend with whom I study telephonically, so I wasn’t expecting these particular books to arrive.  It was a very happy surprise!!  

The surprise was made even sweeter by the fact that the commentaries are based on the writings of Rabbi Levi Yitzhak of Berdichev (d. 1810) — who just might be my favorite Hasid.  He was known “for his ability to see the best in people and for his intimate relationship with God, whom he saw and experienced everywhere.”  Rabbi Rami Shapiro, Intro at xxxv, Hasidic Tales: Annotated & Explained (Skylight Paths Publishing 2004).   Here is the English translation of a song the Berditchever Rebbe is said to have sung in his native Yiddish:  

Where I wander –You!
Where I wonder–You!
Only You, You again, You always!
You! You! You!
When I am happy–You!
When I am sad–You!
Only You, You again, You always!
You! You! You!
Sky–You!
Earth–You!
You above!
You below!
In the beginning–You!
In the end–You!
Only You, You again, You always!
You! You! You!

Rabbi Shapiro, Hasidic Tales at 177.

shavua tov -a good week- to all!!  May we, like the Berditchever Rebbe Levi Yitzhak, be blessed with glimpses of The One as we reside here amongst the many, jen

2 thoughts on “Shavua Tov!!

  1. Oh I just love this song! One of the things I enjoy in following your website is that you introduce me to writings I would not know to seek out when in bookstores. I appreciate this so much. A Partner In Mindfulness sounds delicious.Thank you 🍁

Leave a Reply

