Shabbat shalom!!

ב׳׳ה

.

I took that picture Wednesday evening at the local park where my son meets another synagogue member to practice shofar for Rosh Hashanah services.   It’s hard to believe Rosh Hashanah is only 16 days away!  Between getting back into the swing of school (secular and religious) and planning/preparing for the Holy Days, the last month has flown by. 

At some point in the next 16 days I need to spend more time assessing who I am, where I’m meeting my potential, and where I’m falling short — the annual Cheshbon HaNefesh, or accounting of the soul — so that I will be ready to re-set my priorities for the coming year.   It’s not an easy task (and sometimes it’s not a fun task!!), but the only way we can improve is by being honest with ourselves about who and where we are today.  

But that’s not a task for tonight! 

Tonight I’m going to hit “pause” to stop everything that makes life hectic.   I’m going to play Legos with my kids, race our remote control cars, and maybe take a walk.  I’m going to order pizza for dinner and curl up with them to watch a movie or play a game.  I’m going to stop “doing”… stop “trying”… stop “becoming”…  and instead I’m just going to BE in each precious moment with them, and I’m going to truly enjoy them for who each of them is today. 

If you’ve never tried hitting “pause” to share some time with those you love, I encourage you to try it.   You just might find, as I have, the wisdom in Ahad Ha’am’s saying: “More than the Jews have kept Shabbat, Shabbat has kept the Jews.”   

Shabbat shalom, jen

6 thoughts on “Shabbat shalom!!

Leave a Reply

