words that tumble forth

ב׳׳ה

My ego wants to wax poetic, to trudge through the toil of writing a series of words that might capture the heart of a judge and win a prize, so that those who said I’d “be nothing” can eat their words.

But I don’t write for my ego; I write to record the words that tumble forth from the darkness.

When I was a child, the darkness was terrifying — it was the void where demons and other evil creatures waited to steal souls.

But now, the darkness holds all the brilliance of G-d’s Light. It houses the Eternal Lover who beckons, who wants only that I learn to find peace and joy, so that I might be available to help others as they learn to find peace and joy.

So I close my eyes to the world where my ego lives with other people, open my soul to the eternity that is my Home, and listen for words that tumble forth from the darkness . . .

.

Hoping Shabbat brings a blessed peace in which each of us finds at least a few moments free of the hectic grind and constant noise of 21st century life, so that we might reconnect to The Holy One, whose divine spark resides within each of us . . . jen

Leave a Reply

