Wearing King Solomon’s Ring


When my boys returned from vacation a few days after me last week, they brought me the bracelet in the photograph above. It’s made by a company called lokai. Inside the white dot is water from Mount Everest, the highest natural land elevation on Earth; and inside the black dot is mud from the Dead Sea, the lowest natural land elevation on Earth.

The materials that came with the bracelet explain that lokai bracelets are intended to help “find your balance” by reminding:

“Sometimes you’re on top of the world. Stay humble.”

and

“Sometimes you’ve hit a low. Stay hopeful.”

When my boys told me about the bracelet and as I’ve worn it, I just can’t help but smile a very big smile, because they brought me a bracelet version of King Solomon’s ring!

According to Wikipedia, there are hundreds of versions of a Jewish folktale about King Solomon sending one of his servants on a mission that Solomon thought impossible — to find a ring that can both make a sad man happy and make a happy man sad. While the details of the story vary, the end result is that the servant returns with a ring inscribed: “Gam Zeh Ya’avor,” which means “This too shall pass.” Upon seeing the ring, King Solomon was reminded that his wealth and power would one day end, and he became more humble.

As I wear my new bracelet, I’m reminded not only that I am blessed to have the most awesome kids, who continue to bring me important spiritual lessons, but also that nothing lasts forever, so I’ve got to find my balance!

May each of us find more ways to remind ourselves, as our circumstances continue to change from day to day, to remain hopeful and humble,
jen

.

Appendix

I found a few versions of the tale online. The links are below:

http://leimanlibrary.com/texts_of_publications/107.%20Judith%20Ish-Kishor%20This%20Too%20Shall%20Pass.pdf

http://www.theemotionmachine.com/this-too-shall-pass-a-lesson-in-impermanence

http://www.professorsolomon.com/ringofsolomon.html

5 thoughts on “Wearing King Solomon’s Ring

Leave a Reply

