when storms come

ב׳׳ה

Rabbi Nachman of Breslov taught: “It is a great mitzvah to be happy always.” And I must agree because, when we are happy, we are much more able to share our Light and Love with whomever we encounter each day.

But sometimes, Life brings us circumstances that make joyfulness difficult to maintain.  At those times, it can seem that no matter how hard we work to hold onto the Light, storm clouds roll in, surrounding us with a grey-green gloom that can make daily life a struggle…

 

I recently ran across a prayer that I thought was beautiful, and it seems appropriate for those moments when Life’s storms are getting us down. The prayer is from the Berditchever Rebbe, Rabbi Levi Yitzchak of Berditchev, a great Hassidic leader who lived from 1740-1809. He prayed:

“Lord of the world…I do not beg you to reveal to me the secret of your ways–I could not bear it! But show me one thing; show it to me more clearly and more deeply; show me what this, which is happening at this very moment, means to me, what it demands of me, what you, Lord of the world, are telling me by way of it.”

In Nahum N. Glatzer, Ed., The Passover Haggadah, Schocken Books, Inc., 1979. 

with prayers for peace, jen