Happy Mother’s Day!

 ב׳׳ה

A worthy woman who can find? For her price is far above rubies.  She will do good and not evil all the days of her life.  She stretches out her hand to the poor; she reaches forth her hands to the needy.  Strength and dignity are her clothing; and she shall rejoice at the time to come.  She opens her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the Torah of loving kindness. Her children rise up, and call her blessed; her [spouse] also blesses and praises her.  Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain; but a woman who fears the Lord shall be praised.  Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own deeds praise her in the gates.

That beautiful excerpt is from Proverbs 31, and I dedicate this post to Cherie, whom I appreciate and love more than she can imagine for sticking with me on my crazy Journey and for helping raise our sons in Judaism.

And to all of my Jewish Mothers —

Pam, who opened the door;
Marcia, who loves my “babies and me”;
Marci, who is My Rabbi;
Irit, who taught me to speak;
Janice, who built my community;
Sandy, who let me design and lead;
Joan, who showed me Israel and saw a writer in me;
Nadia, who walked me back to G-d, so that I might truly live;
and Paula, who challenges my mind and encourages my voice;

I say:

 HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!!

with love, jen

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

