Freedom

ב׳׳ה

“Freedom is the oxygen of the soul.”

–Moshe Dayan

image
It’s Passover, so I’ve been thinking a lot about freedom. The freedom to speak. The freedom to think. The freedom to be myself without being judged, threatened, or insulted by others.

When it gets right down to it, that’s all I really want in life. I don’t expect anyone to carry me. I don’t want to stop anyone else from “soaring” or block anyone from “catching an up-draft.” And I really have no interest in hoarding resources that anyone else might need to survive.

All I want is for others to respect me enough to let me have a little space to be me — the freedom to live in a way that lets my soul soar like a bird while I take care of those I love.

And isn’t that all any of us needs, really? A little respect for our differences. A little space to be ourselves. An opportunity to care for those we love.

This Passover, I seem to be more aware than ever of how many people, even just in my own little corner of Creation, are not being given space to be themselves, are not being respected by those around them.

And so, this week, my prayer is that each of us might try a bit harder to give others the respect and space necessary for them to feel comfortable being themselves. If nothing else, may we all respect others enough to listen until we understand what they might need to feel free.

As Coretta Scott King so wisely said:
Freedom and justice cannot be parceled out in pieces to suit political convenience. I don’t believe you can stand for freedom for one group of people and deny it to others.

Either we are all headed toward freedom together, or none of us will ever truly be free . . . and I’d prefer we all became free, because I’d love to have more of the “oxygen” that sends my soul soaring into the sky!!

Shavua tov, jen

.

.

Leave a Reply

