The Wing of an Angel

My family has been coming to Sanibel Island, which is in the Gulf of Mexico just off the coast of Florida, for a number of years.  Some people assert Sanibel has the best beaches in the world for finding amazing shells.  Some years I agree with that assertion, and other years I don’t.  The kind, quality, and quantity of shells we find varies greatly, depending on the time of year, the weather patterns, luck, and our ability to “be like Moses” and stare at the sand and water longer than anyone else would think was appropriate.

Last night, I couldn’t bring myself to leave the beach — it was low tide, and I was finding really cool shells!  But, then, when I found the shell pictured below, I knew I was finished for the evening . . . it’s a shell that I’d never before found intact.  It’s called an “Angel Wing,” and when you see it, you’ll know why!

That a little sea creature could create something this intricate, delicate, and beautiful is nothing short of miraculous, and finding amazing shells on the beach never fails to fill me with a sense of wonder and awe.

angel-wing3

angel-wing1

angel-wing4

Baruch Hashem!

Leave a Reply

